I like Jakarta’s Transportation System

I honestly do.

While I have lived all my life in a country where the transportation system is internationally known to be efficient, Jakarta is perceived to be the opposite.

It is a common and well-known perception that the Jakarta Transportation System is inefficient and it is for certain that you will be stuck in massive jams. The jams even got on the nerves of taxi drivers who, of all people, I expected to be ‘accustomed’ to the whole traffic issues. I guess it is so bad that no one can come to terms with it.

Yes this perception is not wrong. And it is indeed a reality. Or rather, it is a common perception of this ‘reality’.

IN SINGAPORE

sistema-de-transportes

I stayed in Bukit Batok and work in Orchard. Every day, there was one most efficient route to work regardless of weather, traffic etc. Take any other route it will either be way too expensive, or takes significantly more time which does not make sense.

The system is well defined and fixed. So my mornings were so routined that I could zone out or focus on my gadgets throughout the journey. And on top of all, what’s there to worry about? Low crime rates, well-organized roads, functioning traffic lights, clearly defined road lanes… the list goes on.

My wife on the other hand did (and still do) have classes, social meet-ups, groceries etc. Bringing a baby stroller, 1 infant, 1 toddler and a big heavy bag up and down the bus was possible but… well try doing it. Taxis are too expensive. For groceries, it was a 10min walk to and fro – No transport from my block to the nearest market. So not so positive experience for my wife though.

IN JAKARTA

54.-jakarta-transjakarta

I stay in Bintaro, South Jakarta and work in Kuningan, Central Jakarta. To many people I met (including locals), this is a crazy distance to travel every single day. To help contextualise, it is almost like living in Tampines but working in Jurong, with the traffic conditions on almost the opposite end of the spectrum.

For sure, the traffic to work is crazy. It can take me ~2hrs by Taxi during peak hours to go to the central area (but it cost only SGD15 btw).

The traffic is indeed crazy in Jakarta. But to the surprise of many, I am seldom stuck in jams. This constraint of ‘jams’ in Jakarta has forced me to look for alternative routes. But unlike in Sg, these alternatives takes me almost the same amount of time to work and for some, they are significantly cheaper.

And the classic irony is; the cheaper alternative is proven to be significantly more efficient in helping me get to my destinations. Even what is a ‘cheaper’ transportation is not straight forward – for eg from where I work to the train station, Taxis are way cheaper than Ojek (motorcycle-taxi).

That’s how ‘undefined’ the transportation system is in Jakarta.

Below are some transportations that I have taken and some things I like about them:

1) Taxis

Blue_Bird1I like the drivers. Almost all the drivers will step out of the car and help carry my groceries / luggage. An experience we seldom get from Taxis in Sg. Even when there is a massive jam, sometimes I still take the taxi if I need to do work with my laptop or just have a ‘me-time’ – because the meter slows down in jams, unlike in Sg. So I don’t mind the jam.

2) Ojek (Motor Taxi)

ojek-sept5They are everywhere and super agile. If I am in a rush, I will take them. And if you get the ‘brave’ ones, they will skip the jams by going on restricted bus lanes or pedestrian walk-ways. Illegal but meets my objectives. ;p Try doing this in Sg! haha

3) Bus

20141127_165207

They are super cheap – RP2500/3000. Sometimes the smoke that enters the bus do make my throat uncomfortable. But no worries because at certain traffic lights or jammed areas, there will people boarding the bus selling you masks, mineral water, tissues etc. Perfect!

4) Express Bus / Trans Jakarta

images (1)If you are in central jakarta, travelling by this mode is way more efficient than Taxis or even Ojeks because of the dedicated bus lane. I can literally speed through the traffic. And they are significantly cheaper and are as comfortable as the busses in Singapore.

5) Angkot / Mini-Vans

Screenshot 2014-11-27 23.07.02They are definitely my alternative to Taxis and Ojeks. Cost about RP3500. I like them because of how they cooperate with one another. When an Angkot is not fully filled, they will transfer you to another Angkot to fill up the other Angkot first. This is to prevent any Angkot from travelling with less than optimal number of passengers, hence maximising the income they get from their effort. An eye-opening cooperation between them which I definitely do not see in Sg.

6) Bajai (I dont know what is their equivalent in Sg)

Screenshot 2014-11-27 23.08.16They save me the hassle of walking for 10min! Simple cute little…. thing. It cost RP3000 and sufficiently meet my needs.

7) KRL / Train

Screenshot 2014-11-27 23.11.05This is the transport common in all my routes to work. No traffic jam and only cost me RP2000. While it is unimaginably packed during peak hours, this experience teaches basic things like humanity, caring for others etc which I take for granted in Sg. Seriously heartwarming and eye-opening I must say. But will save it for another entry.

8) Shuttle Bus

Sometimes, I take this from my home to the train station. Free, aircon, empty and you have nice Indo music accompanying along the way. And surprisingly, it is very disciplined in following its schedule! Relaxed way to travel but not very stimulating way to start my day though. 🙂

—-

So everyday, I have the many options above which I will choose based on my needs. So one thing I like about Jakarta Transportation System is that I have options and alternatives to best meet my own needs.

Oh I almost forgot. How about my wife who has to travel with 2 kids, a stroller and a big heavy bag to classes, buy groceries etc.

Well the taxi here has no booking fee, only minimum fare which is only about RP40,000. So all she has to do is:
– Book a taxi using a mobile app in just 2 taps.
– Once Taxi arrives, almost all the time the driver will come out and help my wife with the items, and sometimes even help carry my kids into the Taxi.
– When she has groceries, the taxi drivers will help her load and unload the bags and even carry them to my door step.

Can my wife get such a help in Sg? Everyone will agree almost unanimously to the same answer.

—-

But there is a deeper reason why I like Jakarta’s Transportation System.

Let’s reflect.

The good of Sg System: Things are predictable. You input X you know you will get Y as an output with some acceptable variance. Efficient and productive. You do not have to think about ‘non-core matters’ like how to get to work and just focus on performing your core role as an economic agent. Come to work with crisp dry clothing and fresh mind so that you can contribute productively to the organization you work for.

The bad of Sg System: Things are predictable. You tend to have a certain preconceived way of doing something and certain expectations of what that something should give you. So if that way is prevented, you may be stuck and then what? We start complaining as a form of ‘constructive feedback’. One of the effect of this ‘predictably’ is ‘complacency’….

<Intermission> Hahahaha.. this is interesting. While I am typing this, I am waiting for the train. I am used to waiting at this spot where I know the train door will open in front of me. But when the train stopped and I look up, I was wrong and the crowd has already gathered infront of the train doors. Precisely my point above.) <End>

While I am talking about the transportation system, if we extrapolate this to the other aspects of our lives, we can possibly see a similar pattern.

Because we are in a well-defined and organized environment, our children grow up with these advices: “boy this should be done this way. This is the correct way” and we tend to stay away from uncertainties. Uncertainties are perceived as risks. And risks are uncomfortable for many of us.

But we fail to appreciate the fact that risks are necessary to explore new possibilities. To push our own boundaries to achieve greater things. To plant the tree that will be the shade for others in the future. To make new paths that will open to more opportunities for our young to benefit from. Taking risks is important for our future. But toleration for risk-taking is low in well-defined environment where efficiency and ‘the correct way’ are emphasized.

Maybe this explains why Singaporeans is awesome in making things super efficient and productive. But when in comes to innovation or just creating new things that can change the world… well not there yet.

I know what kind of person I want to be and the kind of family I want to grow. And alhamdulillah, the not-so-simple experience of commuting in Jakarta is important in shaping my own mindset and puts an ‘overall flavour’ to the kind of life I am putting my family through. 

So I do honestly like Jakarta Transportation System. 🙂

55 thoughts on “I like Jakarta’s Transportation System

  1. Well written bro. Maybe I can try it out next time on my next visit. But due to my nature of visit and time constraints, I’m better off on foot or taxi. Coz of unfamiliarity with the system.

    Like

    1. Ha. Compare the cost with the income please so we’ll know that transport is definitely NOT CHEAP in jakarta.
      Because of the awful public transport, people are forced to have a car here. And thus become even more burden to the traffic-jam ridden system.

      And that causes waste of time and production in Jakarta.

      We all can like and make up some reason to cope and pretend to love with this bad system. But that doesnt make the bad transport system any better.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Then just -don’t- get a goddamn car.

        If you’re using a car, YOU’RE the traffic.
        and what’s your income again? The minimum is around what, 5.000K in Rp?
        Assuming you live alone/still with your parent/flat, your monthly cost probably hinges at around 3.000K
        You still have around 2.000K to use for the remainder of the month.
        Transport in a day will ONLY cost you about 20K, Tops. Times 30 day? 600K

        Now what’s your excuse, of saying using a car is CHEAPER than public transport?

        Liked by 3 people

      2. lets deal with facts here. Facts, and numbers.

        Singapore:
        Income (minimum) fresh graduate; 2200 S$ / month = 20.6 million idr / month
        Cost of transport (public)/ month (max) = 60 S$ / month = 560.000 idr / month

        Indonesia:
        Income (minimum) you said, (which is already good i think) = 5.0 million idr / month
        Cost of transport (public)/ month (max) as you said = 600.000 idr / month

        NOW compare the efficiency, and comforts in public transport:
        Sg obviously much better in timing/efficiency of public transport, and also comfort.
        while paying the same amount
        while having a very different income.
        and that 5 million idr i consider is already high, compared to what? im sure a big portion of Jakarta people is not having that high of an income.

        Now, where’s your fact Mr?

        Like

      3. Excuse for using a car is cheaper? well no. there’s no excuse. Using a car is always expensive, although the Security it gives compared to public transport in Jakarta is still undefeated. and… IMO, the price of safety always expensive.

        Like

      4. I live in singapore so dont judge people straight away 🙂 I never use car whenever i go back to Jakarta (3 times /year), use motorcycle. Much faster and the comfort is similar to public transport (except during rainy season).

        Public transport in Jakarta=
        Low comfort, low safety, high cost (compare to sg).
        Reason to choose car = high. Cost? Car in Jakarta is much cheaper than sg. And much more comfort and safety.

        In sg people use public transport because its not worth it to pay for car (goddamn expensive) because public transport is SO good and efficient. Same comfort with car unless raining or going somewhere ulu.

        Now. Do you use car in Jakarta? Do you want to use public transport EVERY day?

        Like

      5. 1 more, we should not start compromising and romanticizing this kind of bad transport system.

        Instead we should continue to critize government and try to improve the situation.

        The writers perspective is for someone who live high there and maybe living an expat wage.

        While most jakarta people i bet is struggling with the system. Not capable of owning a car, but have to pay for high cost (compared with low income) and low comfort&safety.

        The voice of the writer here is a minority. While i respect the creativity and feel-good moments he wrote. We all should not compromise and accept the way things are going in Jakarta.

        Like

  2. Nice article. It opens a new perspective for me, i always wanted to live in Sg and I really like the precision and well organized transportation but now I think I can start to be grateful. 🙂

    Btw,number 6 is bemo,not bajaj..
    Bajaj only can carry max 3 people. And the fare is like ojek.

    Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “Bajaj only can carry max 3 people”

      you are underestimating bajaj’s power, mate.. (lol.. please take it as a joke)

      but jokes aside we often see — although it’s against safety and even common sense — 5, or even 7 passengers (not including the driver) in getting cramped in a bajaj. Crazy, but it happens

      Like

  3. Out of curiousity, are you implying that Jakarta should keep its transportation systems because its already satisfying most your needs? Or you just made excuses or justification of something you can do nothing about?

    Like

      1. In your opinion, if Jakarta’s transport system is to be improved, how can they make it more efficient and comfortable without losing what you consider the positive points above?

        Liked by 2 people

  4. Even though there are many options of transportion in jakarta..I still can’t find superfast and cheap transportation .. I often use ojek if I need to arrive in time.. and I use bus transjakarta for long distance..it could minimize cost, but still it needs more time to go, and also it is not comfortable because of crowded passengers..that’s what I think..

    Like

  5. Interesting article for someone who is currently commuting in Singapore and pondering a return to Jakarta.
    Could I ask a couple of specific questions re average time from Bintaro to Kunningan by car? and also by train? And whether you know whether ‘going against the flow’, ie leaving Kunningan to arrive in Bintaro at 8.00 am, and leaving Bintaro at 4,00 pm to head to town is any quicker? I’m thinking by car for this last one. Thanks much

    Like

  6. Well done bro. Very nice article.
    And indeed I experienced the same when I lived in Jakarta view years ago. I took all the best possibility transportation to anywhere my destination is.
    And about the jam, I barely moan or complain about it. Cause I know how to “handle” it. Most of people are complaining about the jam after office hour, but still.. They’re leaving their offices at the same time again and again for years. But me, I stayed in the coffeeshop or just any nearest shopping center for movie or just hanging around till abit late, then take taxi home. Cheaper and faster than those who take taxi just after office hour. And I have no stress at all about the jam for hours.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jakarta and timeliness doesn’t get along unless you are super familiar with all the routes & their occupancy patterns. Moreover if there’s something this well-written post misses out is the convenience and safety of each transportation / vehicle. These are, IMO, the root of all the rage about Jakarta’s transportation system. The POV you’re offering here is refreshing, but I would just like to point these out just to be fair and not shake things off 🙂

    Oh and with regards to Innovation, just because Jakartans are “conditioned” to be more adaptive to unexpected commute patterns, doesn’t mean that we are more Innovative than Singaporeans, nor the city state provides more optimal ecosystem to foster innovation. Instead, Jakartans tend to either ‘settle’ or seek for solutions (through many transportation alternatives), and it can only take us so far.

    Like

    1. Yes, you are right. This article is sooo one-dimensional and well constructed feel-good opinions.

      There is NO scientific prove of relationship between a goddamn TRAFFIC system with INNOVATION (c’mon….)

      I don’t think Jakarta people is that innovative, after all, we all see in the TV shows how awful those ‘ikut-ikutan acara luar negeri’ like indonesian idol, F4, and all those dramas that blatantly copies korean dramas.

      if there is innovation at all it comes from the other provinces and villages. I’ve seen those kampung boys making great innovation in terms of IT like making a 3d software, doing freelances 3d jobs in internet in his own kampung house, with donated pc parts from neighbours.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Wow so very interesting point of view. But you need twice energy for transporting in Jakarta, though. Waiting, chasing (the bus), not to mention keeping your eyes open all the time in case there’s a chance of pickpocketing etc. Many years transporting in Jakarta I’ve lost my gold necklace, a hand phone, a pencil case, and have my bags torn open. But hey, that’s the art of living. I myself won’t mind using public transportation in Jakarta for I always found something to tell about at home with my husband. Be safe in Jakarta…

    Like

  9. Interesting. But then…with most westerners having the samely good transport system (Europe&big cities in the US), how come they can be more productive than Singapore? For the US, I think they still had uncertanties in different manner such as the tornado struck. But Europe tend to be much more “stable”. Heavy snowfall/hurricane is mostly predictable. So how is this contributing to their motivation to innovate?

    Like

  10. Cool. Same perspectives I could definitely use for getting back to my hometown, Jakarta. I used to live in Australia for a while (where I believe has such predictable transportation means and everything), and thus I always expect that Jakarta could be having like ones. I do have a very hard time dealing with this transportation-reverse-culture-shock, but then, reading your notes here make me realise I could think the otherwise. It may be good for my future generations to experience both “predictable” and “unpredictable” situations at the same time to be stronger individuals. So thank you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Ah, well said!
    as with many things, if we could take the positives, the essence of things, why it goes this way, what it got to do with us as a a person, what can we learn from this it will improve us as a person.
    you make a good example of that mindset, but the problem is most people in Jakarta didn’t think about that, what we think is that the system is bad, we don’t like it, it could be better. even if the people in Jakarta are in a way ingenious in solving the transportation problem of going from point A to B, they don’t apply that same mindset in other parts of life. but then again, I could be very wrong, and your writing here might open some people’s eye. thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. honestly,.?
    whilst so many people complain about that,
    hope you enjoy living in Indonesia,
    first time when I start reading this, I was thinking that you must have some kind of -high level of peace- in you heart. as buddha does have one too,,
    LOL

    Like

    1. you had a perfect perspective point of view, while honestly I can learn and practice how to maneuver a car for rip apart of traffic jam only in Jakarta. it is been increasingly clever to get over of this situation very well. Thanks to Jakarta, and your article, indeed

      Liked by 1 person

  13. I am a commuter myself, just as you, from bintaro to sudirman on every working days.

    Indeed, the transportation system is not perfect, traffic jam is everywhere and seems more and more you can’t predict when it’s going to happen.

    However I do agree with your perspective that Jakarta does provide options for its citizens. Bus, train, angkot, ojek, taxi, or even your own car, motorcycle, bike; each can play a part in term of providing you with choices to hinder a boring life. It’s not efficient, yes, but it gives you a kind of private customization in fulfilling your very own needs.

    Eventually, with the improvement on going for the jakarta transportation system, I do hope that the provision of options will still be there. It is the availability of the options that make a mega city thrive with lively souls.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. You came from a country with a proper infrastructure and boring day to day life. Makes sense if you think that Jakarta is “fun” and “experimental”. Unfortunately transportation system is not built for the civilisation to gain “life lessons”, especially in a city that doesn’t guarantee any safety for its citizen.

    Transportation systems are meant to be repetitive with less improvisation, it is designed for people to reach their destination every single day. If you can’t predict how long you have to spend to arrive in your office, it will inevitably affect your productivity. FYI Indonesians are sick of improvisation, it’s like the air that we breathe. We need order, and a decent system. We NEED predictability.

    It is indeed cheap, compared to Singapore’s standard of living. I am sure that you moved to Jakarta with SG’s earnings (or even more), but if you convert the prices thoroughly, applying Indonesian Minimum Wage standard, the prices are far from fair.

    I’m Indonesian, and have lived in a city with arguably the best transportation system in the world, so I can objectively say that Jakarta’s transportation system is not good. A nice post, anyway.

    Liked by 2 people

  15. hahah — interesting read! salam kenal.

    I love your perspective on these cursed Jakarta transportation system! Life is beautiful, isn’t it? 🙂
    I sure would like to see your piece on the promised heartwarming & eye-opening stories of commuting on a KRL, as I regularly take one too from Jurangmangu to Sudirman/Dukuh Atas 😀

    You forgot to mention one thing though; when the rain comes, none of above selections (outside of Taxi) gives any comfort

    Like

  16. yes, in Jakarta we live in struggle, but its just like holding a chair with one hand, the first minute it feels light and easy, but try it few next hours, days, month, you can’t take it anymore. If we see from the bright side, the uncomfortable life in Jakarta’s road, makes us more simply grateful with the cool air conditioner in our office. I would say yes its fun to live in Jakarta’s road, i ride motorcycle everyday, and it feels like racing game for me everyday. But of course we have a dream that one day we can have efficient, effective, safe, and comfortable public transportation such as singapore. Because many middle to high class people, especially women choose not to use public transportation because it is not safe, then uncomfortable…

    Like

  17. This is just another case of romantisizing poverty. Or I must say romantisizing oh-not-so-perfect-but-inspiring life in the third world country.

    I am one of those who did the opposite, moving to sg from jkt. And I’m glad I made the decision.

    One thing come out of my head when I think about Jakarta traffic : discipline and tolerance. There are no discipline or whatsoever amongst Jakarta commuters. Tolerance? Forget it.

    In jkt, no matter how tall you raise the busway divider, everybody will just enter the bus lane. In sg, put red line on the road, and nobody will interfere with the bus lane, without the need of physical divider! In sg, the common habit is to giveaway seats to pregnant ladies and the elderly. In jakarta, you’ll considered a weirdo when you do that! In sg, the most undesirable thing you’ll experience when walking on the sidewalk is getting bumped by some uncle with bicycle. In Jakarta? You can barely walk, the sidewalk is the domain of motorcyclists, no regards to the pedestrian or safety whatsoever. When you try to confront them, the will just threaten to crush you with their bikes! And there are many, many other examples of indisciplinary and intolerance acts, such as kopaja driver stopping anywhere they want, taxi driver trying to steal every penny of your change, drivers cutting on red lights, and so on, and so on.

    Lastly, I don’t want my children to live and grow up in an environment where indisciplinary and intolerance is the norm. In a city where mob mentality is accepted, in a place where it’s okay to disregard the regulation when everybody else’s doing it.

    And Sir, I assume you are living in jkt with an expat’s wages. Of course you have the options to all these modes of transportations.

    Good luck with your inspiring life in Jakarta.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Very thoughtful writings. And valid too. A must read article for people living in Jakarta and complaining the traffic all the time.
    Uncertainty leads to creativity.

    Like

  19. Very thoughtful writings. And valid too. A must read article for people living in Jakarta and complaining the traffic all the time.
    Nice!
    Uncertainty leads to creativity.

    Like

  20. interesting post. like you, i too live in jakarta, and commute around 2 hours to work, and 2 hours back (on bad days, this could go up to 3-4 hours one way!) daily, and while (as others have said) one might learn ‘life lessons’ from this, i think the biggest downside is the lack of time you get to spend with people who matter – your family, your friends, whoever. there’s a limit to the emails you can answer, the blogs you can write (or post comments on), and the updates you can make to path/fb/twitter… i think the biggest frustration to living and commuting in jakarta is the fact that a journey that takes me 20 minutes tops at 2 am can take 2 hours and more at any ‘normal’ time – regardless of the transportation used. makes you wonder what ‘normal’ really means…

    Like

  21. Great piece. Love the conclusion. It’s an excellent point.

    I’m a public transportation user. I’ve moved to Jakarta about 7 years ago, and I feel guilty if I had to bring in another car to this dense city. Another thing that I’ve learned when using public transportation is the empathy to its users. Jakarta is also built by mid to low class workers too and most of them have to stand up with no AC through the jam, while the complainers type their jam complains sitting down in their car. You can see this only on public transport.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. I love your post about transportation in Jakarta. now I live in Netherlands with super very good transportation system, and we always use bicycle because it is free… but sometimes I feel tired to ride my bike and I really miss Kopaja and Angkot very much and Ojek too hahaha…

    Like

  23. Great perspectives! As a researcher myself, I think most planner and designer tend to see one solution fit all. We talk about efficiency, but less we think about how actually human loves to seek for new experiences. Yes, I realize you are not talking that Jakarta got its best transportation system already, but you are actually expressing how actually varieties of ways we travel in Jakarta is actually splendid and perhaps adventurous. I think that this could be a reflection for future planner and designer to provide open solutions, in which user – let say city’s population in this case – could flexibly enjoy different rides and routes in the city for their daily activities. Sustainable city means more friendly city!

    Like

  24. Very open minded and deeply reflective writing toward the transportation system. Just flashed in my mind:
    1. With Jakarta transportation system quite “innovative” in embracing the vehicle, how does it’s being humane in embracing the pedestrian and fresh air?
    2. Just because the system have a flaw doesn’t mean all the system variable carries it flaw. System are always need to be understandable (and sometimes reach the level of predictable), so humans who run it have time-and-space to develop the(ir) system further and better (somehow). Yet if the system is a jungle, the people might not realized that their energy is depleted just to make sure that they alone survive this jungle. I expected a more routine and predictable traffic allowed more creative me time in our home or transport, deepen our relation (with FAMILY) through more time spent together. Whilst the different happen with a jungle traffic (which actually predictable also). Less quality me time and family time just to make sure you don’t get late to important place. We can’t blame the system if our effort is not creative enough, either in exploring and doing a me time or just for surviving one more day in the road.

    Like

  25. Good point of view. Many people here refuse using public transportation, main reason is not comfortable. But there are many choices, as your life is your choice. I’m using public transportation every day to the office, i feel it’s fine. I’m using motorcycle, train, and angkot. Using cars, get jammed, and doing that again and again just plain stupid.

    Like

      1. very well-written…somehow, the writer forgot that indonesia and SG is so very different in cost-living. SG has been stated as the city with the highest living-cost in the world. With high salary in SG (converted to IDR), of course, everything is cheaper here, rite? “u got what u pay”
        How about if living cost in jakarta is almost as high as in SG and the traffic jam is still exist? won’t you be complained? and the article would be changed drastically.

        Would you let your children and wife take the bajaj, bemo, kopaja/metromini with high-polluted air you breath? with so many pick-pocket inside and disturbing “pengamen” , etc…

        Again… u got what u pay.. high-cost with low-crime and clean environment.. and low-cost with high-crime and low-standard of healthiness.
        I bet if the writer has lower salary, he would not take the taxi, and have to deal with “cheaper” transportation and its all consequences… i just wanna say.. the writer might have not been seen a lot and still lack of experiencing “the road of jakarta” … anyway, every one has their own perspective, and i appreciate it. neighbor grass always looks greener than ours.

        but i do really like the point, with unexpected situation in jakarta, will build us to be more critically and creative mind, period.

        Like

  26. I live in Japan !! The best transportation system in the world IMO.. it is accurate to the minute and u really really get to somewhere in time. But most of the time people are just focusing on their twitter or games on the public transportation and everyone seem in the foul mood !! makes the journey a little robotics .. Then i return to Indonesia and use the public transportation ( okay maybe not to work ) but to meetup people, Yeah ojek, taxi ,busway,angkot .. it add spice to the journey !! Pengamen.. jualan aqua .. its all part and parcel of our culture and it is definitely a livelier journey with happier people and more adventurous feeling . This begs the questions if you only focusing on getting from point a to point b faster and efficiently then of course Singapore or japan is better option, but the best journey are always the hidden path and the unexpected opportunity for you to explore and enrich your journey.. i find it is so exciting when travelling around Jakarta

    Liked by 1 person

  27. “Uncertainties are perceived as risks. And risks are uncomfortable for many of us.But we fail to appreciate the fact that risks are necessary to explore new possibilities.”

    A very nice pov to look into these aspects 🙂 Have you read this book by Nassem Nicholas Thaleb: Antifragile? The book has a concept that’s pretty aligned with your argument.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antifragile

    I wish the progress that the current govt made didn’t ruled out the uncertainties of Jakartan public transport tho

    Like

  28. Very interesting and refreshing point of view, though i personally disagree with some of your points.

    As a frequent kopaja/metro mini passenger who ride it nearly on daily basis, I would never, ever, trade safety, comfort, my time, and energy over your so-called “unpredictability”. You know how dangerous kopaja/mm can be. I’m talking about notoriously reckless drivers, pickpocketers, sexual harassment offenders, tukang hipnotis, etc, etc.

    I rarely take KRL because the nearest train station is about 5-7 km from my house. The only way to reach it is by angkot, which is famous for its ngetem culture, which is not desirable at all. Not efficient.

    Taxi is NOT cheap, at least for me. A journey from Kuningan to Cilandak area at 4-5 pm costs about 80-90k by taxi. In contrast it is only 4k by Kopaja. Ironically the travel time is quite similar (about 1.5 hrs) because of the traffic jam.

    I despise bajaj because it is quite slow… and its pollution + noise. And most of the drivers are soooo stingy. A bajaj ride from Terminal Blok M to Cilandak area cost the same as taxi (about 30k).

    Dont let me started on busway. Have you ever been on TJ koridor VI? The bus condition is as BAD as kopaja. I completely soaked on rainy days. Some of the drivers are reckless too. Not to mention “datengnya entah kapan”.

    I understand why some people prefer to ride their own car/motorbike. because it is obviously safer, more comfortable, and faster to reach their own destination. Unfortunately I cant drive nor cant afford car/motor, hence kopaja/mm. Whether using car/motor is cheaper or not is up for another debacle, because different people = different monthly earnings, different distance, different travel frequency…
    Some people realize by using car/motor, they do contribute to the traffic jam. but it doesnt stop them to use it??? Because deep down they really dont care… Ya karena itu tadi: time-efficiency, safety, and comfort. Do our public transportation system have them all? Nah.

    I think transportation system is supposed to be “predictable”… Lets admit it… Would you really willing to sacrifice your precious time and energy for your family, friends, colleagues, yourself… for such unpredictability/uncertainty/flavor of life/blahblahblah?

    Funnily enough, you mention this sentence “thats how undefined the transportation is” -> perfectly sums this whole post up.

    Lastly, your sentence “And if you get the ‘brave’ ones, they will skip the jams by going on restricted bus lanes or pedestrian walk-ways. Illegal but meets my objectives.” really, really rubs me the wrong way. Seriously?? You know it is WRONG, but as long as it meets ~your objectives~ suddenly it is okay?? Kasihan pejalan kaki, haknya digiles sama orang lain yang terburu-buru ~meets their own objectives~ And I heard you’re from Singapore?? Okay then!

    Whooops long reply (sorry). To each their own, i guess!

    Like

Leave a comment